Uncategorized

MN: Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon

Duluth, Minnesota, Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon

I heard nothing but good things about Grandma’s Marathon and the weekend festivities that take place in Duluth every year and knew for sure that this was the race I wanted to run in Minnesota. I entered the lottery thinking I would not be be chosen for a couple of years because of how popular this event is, but I was very surprised and excited to receive my acceptance email last year.

I flew out bright and early on Friday the 16th and Dad picked me up at the airport in Minneapolis around 9 am. We went back to the campground he and Sue were staying at and hitched up the car to the RV to drive north to Duluth. We arrived at Buffalo House Campground around noon and Sue made lunch before Dad and I left for the expo.

The expo was held at the Duluth Entertainment Convention Center and was a good size with many vendors. I scored lots of free stuff (and my dad too), from snacks to hot sauce, to chocolate milk, to cooked pieces of pork, and of course lots of running merchandise. I was really excited to find my name on the vehicle with all the weekend’s participants.

20170616_133920-e1499487070453.jpg
Right up top!

Bib pickup was at the far end of the expo (I might have entered backward). Pickup was easy and the volunteer was very friendly and helpful. He gave Dad suggestions for places to watch during the race. After leaving the expo we drove along the race course. It was a beautiful route along the shore line of Lake Superior with charming houses and many pull off spots to take in the view. We returned back to the campground in time for dinner and to take it easy for the rest of the night.

It was a very early morning on Saturday. I was up at 3:50 and out the door by 4:20. A few other campsites had runners up and heading out at the same hour. There wasn’t any traffic until we approached the exit ramp. Dad dropped me off at the DECC and I joined the huge line waiting for the bus. It took around 20 minutes before I finally boarded and I arrived at the starting area around 5:45. It was a short walk from the bus to the corrals. There were several pairs of port-o-potties, all with massive lines, but I remembered the bigger cluster of them further ahead from our drive the day before. I pushed through the corral area and joined the shorter lines. This area was a little congested and I had to fight people who were already lining up to start the race.

20170617_061648

The National Anthem started around 6 am but I wasn’t too concerned. If I missed the start, I could start further back and pass more people. I got in and out of the bathroom with around 2 minutes to spare and tried to make my way back to the correct corral. I didn’t quite make it and joined the masses as they started walking toward the start line. I crossed the start line at the same time as the 2:15 pacer. I originally thought this was a good idea since I ran my last race in that time, but in reality I found it a little discouraging. I thought I was running slightly faster, 2:10-2:12 pace according to the prompts in my ear from Runkeeper; but on occasion the pacer would pass me and I felt like I needed to run harder to not fall too far behind my goal time.

During the first 3-4 miles the race was a bit frustrating. The course was very crowded and I couldn’t find enough space to get in a comfortable groove. Many people were walking very early and it was difficult to get around them. Also, people who were much faster than me were darting throughout the crowd, forcing weird stutter steps and half steps. Much of the race course was along Scenic Highway 61. The course was relatively flat with only a few gradual inclines in the road. There were a few spectators set up at the end of their driveways offering encouragement which was especially nice since it was still before 7 am. Some notable sites along the way included a guy dressed as a pea pod jumping on the trampoline, a little girl who set up her troll dolls for luck, and a family having a full-out barbecue and offering food to the racers.

20170616_143118

Mile 8-9 was the only significant incline, Lemon Drop Hill, and did result in me taking my first walk break at the top (Not while climbing, since Uncle Joe built up my confidence by telling me I’m strong on hills). The crowd support was steady and much appreciated those last three miles. Everyone was very loud and encouraging as we entered downtown Duluth but I was really getting warm and struggling to finish. Those final miles were a combination of walking and running as best I could, while looking for Dad and Sue on the sidelines. Unfortunately, I never found them along the course which was a bit of a disappointment.

As the finish line approached, I was determined to stay above the 2:15 pacer. I crossed the line in 2:12:54. New PR! 13 minutes faster than last November’s race and less than 13 more to get under 2 hours.

Some additional thoughts about the finish. Great t-shirt and finisher’s medal. I liked that the shirt says “Finisher” and that you picked it up at the end of the race. I’m always so tempted to buy these types of items at expos but am afraid of jinxing myself before a race. Tons of food and drink at the finisher’s area as well. I liked the idea of a free drink coupon but they really could have done with some more signage or staff to tell me where to redeem it. I spent a lot of time wandering the finisher’s area, both looking for interesting food I saw people eating, and then eventually the exit. Overall, this race is highly recommend. It’s a flat, fast, scenic course that really brings out the community. The expo was one of the larger ones I’ve been to, with tons of giveaways and the same can be said for the finisher’s area.

 

20170707_211520
Final results: 3552 out of 7337 runners, 1795 out of 4707 women, finished in the top 49%

Leave a comment